UBC offers and administers programs that provide professional development to PDFs. Events offered by the PDFO will open for registration approximately 1 week in advance. Registration is required for all PDFO events.

Workshops and Seminars

Event Title Organizer Date
International Fellowships for Research in Japan - Information Session with the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Thursday, 8 November 2018 - 2:30pm to 3:30pm
Instructional Skills Workshop (ISW) Centre for the Integration of Research, Teaching and Learning (CIRTL) Saturday, 17 November 2018 - 8:30am to Saturday, 24 November 2018 - 5:00pm
Public Speaking and Presentation Mastery Postdoctoral Fellows Office Tuesday, 20 November 2018 - 9:00am to 12:30pm
UBC Postdoc Research Day 2018 UBC Postdoctoral Association Monday, 3 December 2018 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Orientation for Postdoctoral Fellows - Winter 2019 Postdoctoral Fellows Office Tuesday, 29 January 2019 - 8:30am to 12:30pm
Foundations of Project Management I Postdoctoral Fellows Office and Mitacs Monday, 4 February 2019 - 9:00am to Tuesday, 5 February 2019 - 5:00pm
Build Your Scientific and Technical Writing Skills Postdoctoral Fellows Office and Mitacs Thursday, 21 February 2019 - 9:00am to Friday, 22 February 2019 - 5:00pm
Discovering the Entrepreneur Within Postdoctoral Fellows Office, Graduate Pathways to Success, and Mitacs Monday, 25 February 2019 - 9:00am to 5:00pm
Business Writing for Today's Professional Postdoctoral Fellows Office and Mitacs Wednesday, 20 March 2019 - 9:00am to 5:00pm
Skills of Communication Postdoctoral Fellows Office and Mitacs Wednesday, 27 March 2019 - 9:00am to 5:00pm

Previous Events

Event Title Organizer Date
The German Research Landscape & Funding Opportunities for Faculty and Postdocs Office of the Vice-President Academic and Provost Wednesday, 31 October 2018 - 3:30pm to 5:00pm
Graduate Career Exploration Series: Careers in Higher Education Centre for Student Involvement and Careers Thursday, 18 October 2018 - 5:30pm to 7:00pm
Time Management Postdoctoral Fellows Office and Mitacs Monday, 1 October 2018 - 9:00am to 5:00pm
Essentials of Productive Teams Postdoctoral Fellows Office, Graduate Pathways to Success, and Mitacs Friday, 28 September 2018 - 9:00am to 5:00pm
Orientation for Postdoctoral Fellows - Fall 2018 Postdoctoral Fellows Office Tuesday, 25 September 2018 - 8:30am to 12:30pm
2018 National Postdoc Appreciation Week Barbecue Postdoctoral Fellows Office Thursday, 20 September 2018 - 12:00pm to 1:30pm
CIRTL Summer Teaching Institute UBC Centre for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning (CIRTL) and the Centre for Teaching, Learning and Technology (CTLT) Monday, 23 July 2018 - 8:00am to Friday, 27 July 2018 - 5:00pm
3-Minute Postdoc Slam UBC Postdoctoral Association Thursday, 28 June 2018 - 3:00pm to 5:00pm
Rehearsing Conflict: Theatre Workshop Series UBC Human Resources and Department of Theatre and Film Friday, 15 June 2018 - 8:30am to Thursday, 21 June 2018 - 3:30pm
How to Apply for Grants The National Geographic Society Thursday, 31 May 2018 - 3:00pm to 6:00pm

Pages

Privacy Notification: Your personal information is collected under the authority of section 26(c) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FIPPA). This information will be used for the purpose of planning and administering each professional development workshop and event offered by the Postdoctoral Fellows Office (PDFO). Questions about the collection of this information may be directed to the PDFO at postdoctoral.fellows@ubc.ca.