UBC offers and administers programs that provide professional development to PDFs. Events offered by the PDFO will open for registration approximately 1 week in advance. Registration is required for all PDFO events.

The Postdoctoral Fellows Office is pleased to introduce Foundations of Career Planning, a three-part workshop program designed to provide postdocs with the support and resources required to establish the foundations of a post-PDF career, whether in academia or in industry. By the end of the program, participants will have developed through self-reflection the foundations needed to structure a development plan, put together a professional portfolio, and navigate the interview and negotiation process. Information about the program, including upcoming dates and registration, can be found on the Foundations of Career Planning page.

 

PDFO Workshops and Seminars

Event Title Date Organizer
Orientation for Postdoctoral Fellows - Summer 2020 (online) Tuesday, 2 June 2020 - 9:00am to 12:00pm Postdoctoral Fellows Office
Postdoc Instructional Skills Workshop - June 2020 (with CTLT) (online) Saturday, 6 June 2020 - 8:15am to Sunday, 14 June 2020 - 5:00pm Postdoctoral Fellows Office
Design Your Life (online) Wednesday, 10 June 2020 - 12:00pm to Friday, 12 June 2020 - 2:00pm Postdoctoral Fellows Office
Foundations of Project Management I (with Mitacs Training) (online) Wednesday, 17 June 2020 - 9:00am to Thursday, 18 June 2020 - 5:00pm Postdoctoral Fellows Office

Other Workshops and Seminars

Event Title Date Organizer
Gynecologic Cancer Initiative Trainee Webinar Series Friday, 5 June 2020 - 9:30am to Friday, 31 July 2020 - 10:45am Gynecologic Cancer Initiative
McKinsey Canada Launchpad (Virtual Friday, 5 June 2020 - 10:00am to 2:00pm McKinsey & Company
Working From Home Full-Time (online) Thursday, 11 June 2020 - 9:00am Beyond the Professoriate
Options for Pregnancy Termination Innovation (OPTions) Initiative Hackathon Monday, 15 June 2020 - 9:00am to Wednesday, 17 June 2020 - 5:00pm OPTions Initiative

Previous Events

Event Title Date Organizer
Overcoming Impostor Syndrome - Webinar Thursday, 28 May 2020 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm alumniUBC
Online Teaching: Lessons Learned (online) Thursday, 28 May 2020 - 9:00am Beyond the Professoriate
Resilience in the Job Search, Work and In Life (online) Wednesday, 27 May 2020 - 11:00am to 12:00pm National Institues of Health, Office of Intramural Training & Education
Workplace Dynamics III: Conflict and Feedback Friday, 22 May 2020 - 10:00am to 11:30am National Institues of Health, Office of Intramural Training & Education
Mini-workshop: Mentoring Thursday, 21 May 2020 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm National Institues of Health, Office of Intramural Training & Education
Essentials of Productive Teams (with Mitacs Training) (online) Tuesday, 19 May 2020 - 9:00am to 5:00pm Postdoctoral Fellows Office
Sharpening Your Mentoring Skills: Part II (online) Monday, 18 May 2020 - 11:00am to 1:00pm National Institues of Health, Office of Intramural Training & Education
Workplace Dynamics I and II: Gaining Self-Awareness and Communication Skills (online) Friday, 15 May 2020 - 9:00am to 11:00am National Institues of Health, Office of Intramural Training & Education
Sharpening Your Mentoring Skills (online) Wednesday, 13 May 2020 - 11:00am to 1:00pm National Institues of Health, Office of Intramural Training & Education
Succeeding in Difficult Conversations (online) Wednesday, 13 May 2020 - 9:00am to Thursday, 14 May 2020 - 11:00am Postdoctoral Fellows Office

Pages

Privacy Notification: Your personal information is collected under the authority of section 26(c) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FIPPA). This information will be used for the purpose of planning and administering each professional development workshop and event offered by the Postdoctoral Fellows Office (PDFO). Questions about the collection of this information may be directed to the PDFO at postdoctoral.fellows@ubc.ca.