Announcing UBC’s 2019-2020 Banting Postdoctoral Fellows

Three postdoctoral fellows from the University of British Columbia have received 2019-2020 Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships, out of seventy fellowships awarded nationally. These prestigious fellowships provide each researcher with $70,000 each year for two years, to support research that will positively contribute to Canada's economic, social, and research-based growth.

Viv Tulloch, one of this year's Banting recipients says, “The fellowship will provide me with the chance to work on my own project that I developed from the ground up, and connect my research to on-ground applied management of threatened species - this is so important to me to achieve my vision to be a world-class leader in influencing real-life conservation decision-making.”

UBC 2019-2020 Banting Postdoctoral Fellows

Céline Laumont, Department of Medical Genetics, Faculty of Medicine, supervisor: Dr. Brad H. Nelson 
Research focus: B cell-mediated immunity in high-grade serous ovarian cancer

Yale Michaels, School of Biomedical Engineering, Faculty of Science, supervisor: Dr. Peter Zandstra
Research focus: Engineering pluripotent stem cells to provide a renewable source of T-cells for immunotherapy

Viv Tulloch, Department of Forest and Conservation Science, Faculty of Science, supervisor: Dr. Tara Martin
Research focus: Ecosystem-based models to inform tactical management: new solutions to prevent decline of threatened and endangered resident killer whales in multiple-use areas

About the Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships Program

The Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships Program provides the opportunity to bring top talent to join the research community at UBC. Fellowships are awarded to the very best postdoctoral researchers, both nationally and internationally, who will positively contribute to Canada's economic, social and research-based growth. Emphasis is placed on the synergy of research goals and projects between applicants, supervisors, and host institutions.

Seventy fellowships are awarded each year and are equally distributed among candidates from Canada's three Tri-Council Agencies: the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC).

More information about the Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship Program is available from the Postdoctoral Fellows Office.